Newcastle release 25-man Premier League squad with Emil Krafth and Mark Gillespie left OUT | The Sun

NEWCASTLE have announced their 25-man Premier League squad for the 2022/23 campaign.

Eddie Howe's side have started the season positively with one win, four draws and just one defeat from their opening six league matches.

Howe has been forced to make some big decisions when naming his squad for the rest of the campaign.

One of the major talking points was whether or not to include Jonjo Shelvey as he is set to miss at least half the season due to a hamstring injury.

But Howe has still opted to include the English midfielder in in his 25-player roster.

However, Emil Krafth has not been so lucky.


How North vs South teams could line up if Todd Boehly gets his All-Star game

How to get free bets on horse racing – the best bookies for offers and rewards

The Swedish right-back has played just one minute of Prem action so far this season as Kieran Trippier is Newcastle's first-choice.

But Krafth has been ineligible for the past four matches anyway due to a cruciate ligament rupture which is set to keep him out for the foreseeable future.

And Howe has deemed it too much of a risk to select him, so he has been left out of the Toon's squad.

Another noticeable absence is keeper Mark Gillespie.

Most read in Football

Mus-t be joking

Chelsea fans say the same thing after selling Jamal Musiala for just £180k


Bayern Munich fans display banner slamming Uefa's response to the Queen's death


Spurs COLLAPSE in injury time to lose first match since April


Chelsea offer PSG chief Luis Campos £135k a week as sporting director


The 30-year-old was signed in 2020 as a back-up shot-stopper and has played just three times for the club – all of which have come in the Carabao Cup.

He has now lost his place in the squad after Newcastle signed ex-Liverpool man Loris Karius earlier this week.

Here is the squad in full:

  • Kieran Trippier
  • Paul Dummett
  • Sven Botman
  • Fabian Schar
  • Jamaal Lascelles
  • Joelinton
  • Jonjo Shelvey
  • Callum Wilson
  • Allan Saint-Maximin
  • Matt Ritchie
  • 12 Jamal Lewis
  • Matt Targett
  • Alexander Isak
  • Loris Karius
  • Javier Manquillo
  • Chris Wood
  • Ryan Fraser
  • Nick Pope
  • Jacob Murphy
  • Miguel Almiron
  • Karl Darlow
  • Joe Willock
  • Dan Burn
  • Sean Longstaff
  • Bruno Guimaraes

Source: Read Full Article