Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield go head to head for top TV award

Phillip Schofield’s This Morning departure addressed by hosts

Phillip Schofield officially quit the This Morning sofa by releasing a shock statement on Saturday.

However, his work on the show has still contributed to earning him a place on the long-list for the Best Presenter award at this year’s NTAs.

This could potentially lead to an embarrassing moment as former co-host Holly Willoughby is also a contender for the gong.

The pair have reportedly fallen out with their friendship in tatters, which ultimately led to Phillip’s departure.

In the past they usually attended the NTAs together and celebrated the numerous awards This Morning has won over the years.

Indeed, in 2016 they celebrated all night, arriving on air giddy and slightly worse for wear much to viewers delight.

There will be no similar scenes at this year’s awards as one or the other may win the coveted award.

The long-list for the NTAs 2023 features 50 well-known names as possible contenders to go home with the TV Presenter accolade.

Phil and Holly are joined on the list by both Dermot O’Leary and Alison Hammond who took over presenting duties on Monday’s This Morning leading with a 35 second tribute to Phillip.

Husband and wife team Marvin and Rochelle Humes are also on the longlist of potential winners and have also hosted This Morning.

Don’t miss…
EastEnders rocked as Lola Pearce dies as family gather to say goodbye[SPOILER]
Strictly’s Dianne Buswell issues stark warning to celebs who ‘value marriage'[INSIGHT]
Piers Morgan blasts ITV as he insists Schofield deserved ‘better send off'[OPINION]

With so many people on the long-list having This Morning connections it could lead to interesting scenes if they all find themselves competing against each other on the night.

None of them have ever won the coveted award and the odds are not in their favour.

This category has been dominated by Ant and Dec for the past 21 years as the presenting double act are the only presenters to have won the award in that period.

Their work on shows such as ratings winners Saturday Night Take Away, Britain’s Got Talent and I’m A Celebrity…Get Me Out Of Here ensure their continuing popularity.

They are also on the long list and will no doubt be hoping to make it 22 wins on the trot.

The awards are voted for by the public and voting is now open on the NTAs website.

All votes for this stage must be in by 11pm on Friday June 2, and then the shortlists for the categories will be announced.

This will be followed by a final round of voting, also voted for by the public.

The winners will then be announced at the star-studded event to be held on Tuesday September 5.

Source: Read Full Article