What are the Holy Days of Obligation in 2019 and is Ash Wednesday one of them?

HOLY days of obligation are dates in the Catholic Church where the faithful are expected to attend church.

But what are the holy days for 2019?

What are holy days of obligation?

There are six Holy Days of Obligation in 2019, although the number varies from year to year.

The number varies because the obligation is lifted if any of the days falls on either a Saturday or a Monday.

The six days are:

1 January: Solemnity of Mary, the Holy Mother of God

30 May: Ascension of Jesus

15 August: Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

1 November: All Saints' Day

9 December: the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary

25 December: Christmas

What are the holy days in 2019?

May 30, 2018: Ascension of Jesus – Monday

August 15, 2018: Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary – Thursday

November 1, 2018: All Saints' Day – Friday

December 9, 2018: The Immaculate Conception of The Blessed Virgin Mary -Monday

December 25, 2018: Christmas Wednesday

What is Ash Wednesday?

Ash Wednesday is not a holy day of obligation and comes the day after Shrove Tuesday, otherwise known as Pancake Day.

It marks the first day of lent and in 2018 falls on March 6.

Ash Wednesday is an important day in the Christian calendar as it marks the first day of fasting, repentance, prayer and self-control that will be required during Lent.

Its official name is "Day of Ashes", due to the mostly Catholic practice of rubbing ashes in the sign of the cross on people's foreheads.

Source: Read Full Article